top of page

G is for Ghost


Before moving on to the letter H, I just had to do a few ghostly activities for the letter G!


Hot Glue Ghosts & Letters Sensory Bin


I have some wooden ghosts on hand, but I wanted something more see-through that could be "lost" or "hidden" in this sensory bin. So I made these little ghosts out of hot glue, and added a letter recognition game by making the uppercase and lowercase letters to spell out "ghost." I wrote out the word on a black piece of paper with a white chalk marker, and he had to hunt for the letters and then match them on the paper.


As a note, I first tried this on wax paper, which worked well enough but the paper stuck on the back and made the hot glue more opaque. So I tried making the lowercase letters on a ceramic plate, and that worked really well! All of the glue came right off, and the glue was still completely clear!



Ghost Marshmallow Stamping


This one was so easy to do and so much fun! Grab a bag of ghost marshmallows at your local grocery store, dip it in white paint, and viola! After it dried, they added some star stickers and then I drew on the little faces. I loved that the marshmallows were thick enough that their fingers never touched the paint!



Haunted House Math Concept Game


This activity turned out to be a really cool way to teach Aaron more number awareness. I wanted him to try adding or subtracting numbers using shortcuts instead of needing to count each finger.


For example, if he's answering the question, "What is 5+1?" he would typically count each finger and finally get to 6. I challenged him to see that his one hand is showing all of his fingers, so he knows it's 5. He just has to say which number comes after 5. He used the same shortcut when subtracting 1 from 10. Instead of counting 9 individually, I asked him what number comes before 10.


Once he got the answer, he took off the sticky note and placed the matching ghost on it's spot!


This is definitely a hard concept and it takes some patience, but it helped that Aaron got to hold little ghosts and he could put them in the house for their "ghost party!" I love when little manipulatives help a hard lesson to still be fun!


Click here to get this haunted house printable for free!


Click here to see my party ghosts print! It comes in my Halloween Educational Pack on Etsy.

51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page